My Palette

20120616-124511.jpg

I heard that some people keep their palettes really neat and clean while others still manage to paint beautiful pieces with the most dirty palettes. Most of us fall in between. I guess mine included.

This is my palette after one class.  I usually clean up the mixing areas but leave the paint wells intact so I can reuse the paints. I activate the paints with a spray bottle the next time I use them.

I organise my palette according to the colour wheel in a sort of circular way – putting yellows on top, blues on the right and reds at the bottom left. I further put the warm yellow on the left (towards the reds), the cool yellow on the right (towards the cooler blues). I learnt this from Watercolour for Dummies.

If anyone has a different way of organising his or her palette, please share with me.

8 thoughts on “My Palette

  1. Interesting, I’m most often using the same type of palette. It’s very flexible, can be used anywhere outdoors or indoors because it has two parts, the base and the lid, an opening to hold it in hand, and 5 fairly large mixing areas. Mine is just larger with more dwells for paint.

  2. I love the color of the paint puddles as they dry on palettes. Sometimes I like them better than my paintings!!! I arrange in a similar fashion to you…a little different…I put all the yellow shades first followed by orange and scarlet through to the deeper reds then my blues. If using, I put violets in next followed by greens. The earth tones round out the palette running from yellow ochre or raw sienna to raw umber. Paynes grey goes last. I use a lot of colors…at least 3 yellows, 2 oranges, 4 reds, 4 blues, 2 violets, 2 greens, and roughly 6 earths and/or quinacridones and Paynes’ grey or indigo.

    • That’s cool. It’s interesting to see how others do it differently. That’s a lot of colour to use! Since I am a beginner, I am not able to discern colours that well, so I am sticking to a few basic ones. I read that it is good to learn to mix colours too, so I hope as I am able to discern better, I can learn to mix more colours too.

      • You’re right! Start out with a limited palette to learn what a few colors do. As you gain experience you’ll start to develop preferences and see that some pre-mixed colors add to your flexibility as a painter. I use black to mix amazing greens and violets. Play around as you learn with other colors on scraps of paper without pressure…just play…to see what happens. It’s fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

