Birds and Flowers

 

These were the last 2 paintings I did. Not quite complete yet. After the session painting the birds, I decided to stick to still life during class so that teacher can guide me to better see.

I realise that drawing and painting has a lot to do with seeing and perceiving, than just the act of drawing or painting. Most of us novices are so keen to have a complete painting to show our friends, that we take the shortcut by painting from photos or other paintings most of the time. While this can be a useful learning process to see how others paint and a still picture can help us focus our attention, I think I should be actually seeing with my own eyes since photos are flat and 2-D.

 

i brought a picture to class to paint (since everyone in class seemed to be doing this). This was what I could find on the spur of the moment.

I brought a picture to class to paint (since everyone in class was doing this). This was what I could find on the spur of the moment.

image

A closer look. Not sure how to deal with the flapping wings yet.

image

Still life the following week. Painting purple chrysanthemums.

 

Leave a Reply

