A Sketch A Day…Hopefully

I have bought many beautiful sketch books hoping that I would fill them with beautiful sketches. But they have remained beautiful blank sketchbooks because I am so afraid of defacing them with less than perfect drawings…worse…ugly drawings.

My journey in learning to draw has given me quite a few illuminating moments on human psychology (especially mine). Wanting to be perfect, we sometimes never start. So I bought a really cheap sketchbook recently to try to change that. Just deface the damn paper, I told myself. Fill it with ugly drawings because no one’s going to see it but you. Just let go for goodness sake. Sketchbooks are for your ugly drawings.

Ironically, eversince I started on the journey to learn how to draw – I have also learnt how to see better. And no matter how I see it, everything looks more beautiful. The wrinkles on an old woman’s face. The tender-faced boy with legs of uneven lengths. The imperfect looking apple. The wilting flower. And many more. Wabi-sabi.

Because when we really see, we bring into existence the subject. Things are only as beautiful or as ugly as ourselves.

And for that, I am mostly glad.

This potted plant has been with me for about  2 years. I never knew (or remembered) that it is called the snake plant or mother-in-law's tongue (haha). It is a rather hardy plant and can take little watering and sun. Apparently it can be repotted rather easily through leaf cuttings. I never really looked at this plant before until I had to sketch it. And now that I have done so, I know exactly where each leaf is positioned. Isn't that marvellous?

This potted plant has been with me for about 2 years. I never knew (or remembered) that it is called the snake plant or mother-in-law’s tongue (haha). It is a rather hardy plant and can take little watering and sun. Apparently it can be re-potted rather easily through leaf cuttings. I never really looked at this plant before until I sketched it. And now that I have done so, I know exactly where each leaf is positioned. And I am beginning to thinking that the plant is looking at me too. Isn’t that marvellous?

 

Here it is. My beautiful ugly drawing.

Here it is. My beautiful ugly drawing.

2 thoughts on “A Sketch A Day…Hopefully

  1. That is a very good thing: to keep working every day. Your sketch is very good, however,the object is difficult. Good luck with your new projects!

Leave a Reply

